Sunday Stamping: Inspired by the 70s

Happy Father’s Day to all the dads out there.  My own dad passed away last year.  I miss him and wish he were here.  He never got to see any of my stamping, although I tried explaining it over the phone.  As an engineer, he liked to know about tools, and the idea of using plates, a scraper and a stamper to effect a design on one’s nails was interesting to him.  I think he was also trying to be involved in my hobbies when he asked me a million questions.  I definitely miss him.

I think he’d really like what I came up with for today’s design.  The theme is ‘inspired by the 70s’.  The 70s had a whole range of colors and designs to choose from.  I chose a tan, green, maroon and gold color scheme, with a swirly design.

stripes-70s-swirls

The base color is OPI Did You ‘Ear About Van Gogh?.  The stripes are Zoya Dree and Rescue Beauty Lounge Bruised.  The plate is Mash-40 stamped with Illamasqua Swinger (this polish stamps really well).

I’m not sure how 70s this is, but it’s pretty, so I’m happy!

Here’s how it looked before the stamping:

stripes-70s

This is the first stamping I’ve done in a few months, and I think I did well.  What do you think?  Is this the 70s?

This entry was posted in Beige, Creme, Gold, Green, Illamasqua, Maroon, Metallic, OPI, Polishes, Rescue Beauty Lounge, Stamping, Zoya and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Sunday Stamping: Inspired by the 70s

  1. Anonymous says:

    So 70s!!! I love it, it came out really good!

  2. dymphnarose says:

    Very 70s! It looks great 🙂 I hope you can think of good memories today about your dad, and smile.

  3. Polished PR says:

    Because you inspire the blogger in me, I’ve nominated you for a blog award! Read more about the details here: http://thisjenngirl.wordpress.com/2013/06/19/blog-award/

    Looking forward to your next post! xo

Leave a Reply

