Zoya Nail Art

I had grand plans for nail art using the Zoya polish I reviewed last week.  As usual, not all plans work out.  My favorite nail art, watermarbling, was a no-go.  I tried all different approaches, and the polish just didn’t want to spread in the water.  I was using distilled water, which I’ve used successfully twice before.  I thought perhaps the water was too cold, so I warmed it up.  The polish still wouldn’t spread.  Then I tried warming up the polish (just in my hands), but that didn’t work either.  I guess Zoya just doesn’t work for a watermarble.  Either that, or I messed something else up that I didn’t realize.  If you’ve been successful using Zoya in a watermarble, I’d love to hear about it.

After the frustration of all that, I wanted to do something easy.  If you have a dotting tool, polka dots are the easiest nail art to do.

The base on this is Zoya Purity.  For the dots I used Arizona, Lara, Shelby, Tangy and Pippa.

Emboldened by this more successful mani, I went on to do some stamping.

The base is a gradient of Shelby and Lara.  It’s very subtle mainly because I haven’t quite figured out how to do a gradient.  Most blogs say to use a makeup wedge sponge and either put the polish directly on the sponge or put the polish a surface (like a paper plate or wax paper) and then pick it up with the sponge.  I’ve tried both methods and it just didn’t seem to work.  The polish seemed to be absorbed immediately into the sponge and would barely transfer to the nail.

However, it turns out that I just need more practice.  I was expecting that laying the sponge on the nail a couple of times would get the desired result.  I finally figured out that it takes repeated sponging to get the desired effect.  I’ve already posted this mani in my Sunday Stamping post, but since it’s also part of my Zoya nail art, I’ll post it here, too.  The gradient isn’t perfect, but it’s better than most others I’ve done.  I’m looking forward to getting better at the sponging technique.

I hope you had a great week and have a wonderful weekend!

This entry was posted in Free Hand, Polishes, Stamping, Zoya and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

