Comparison Swatches: Blue and Purple

This post is the conclusion to my 2-part comparison series.  The first one compared some white, green and orange polishes.  In this one, I will show you some blues and purple.

First up, butter London HRH and Essie Sexy Divide.

These two are very similar, but Sexy Divide is slightly darker.  HRH has a shimmer that looks silver in the bottle, but is reddish on the nail (you can see it best on my ring finger).

The next comparison is two light blues, Rescue Beauty Lounge Faraway Nearby and Sinful Colors Sweet Dreams.

In the bottle shot, they look like dupes to me.  Shows how different polish can look on the nail.  As you can see, Sweet Dreams is much lighter and almost looks turquoise next to Faraway Nearby.  These shades are very complementary and I bet they’d look good in an ombre or gradient.  I’ll have to remember that.

Finally, here’s Rescue Beauty Lounge IKB: 2012 and butter London Blagger.

My camera does not like bright blues.  In real life, the difference between these two is obvious.  But my camera showed them looking exactly the same.  I ended up taking about 50 pictures in different lighting configurations to be able to show the difference.  The above is the best one, but you still have to look closely to see it.  Blagger has a dusty quality, whereas IKB:2012 is a more pure blue.  Pure, meaning no other tones to it.  There’s no green tone, or purple tone.  It’s just BLUE.  In real life Blagger has a green tone to it, which is brought out much more by the contrast of IKB:2012.  My amateur camera work is shortchanging me on this comparison.  I’m hoping though, that this picture shows enough of a difference for you to be able to see they’re not dupes.

That wraps up my comparison post series.  Thanks to those who voted in the poll I posted several weeks ago.  Zoya won!  So, I’m planning on swatching all my remaining Zoyas next.

Have a great day!

This entry was posted in Blue, butter London, Comparison Swatches, Creme, Essie, Polishes, Purple, Rescue Beauty Lounge, Shimmer, Sinful Colors and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Comparison Swatches: Blue and Purple

  1. skaytanik says:

    Awesome comparisons! I love fancy polishes, but I think people can forget that some brands have quality polishes for a couple bucks 🙂 I’ve recently fallen in love with Sinful Colors after I picked some up at their Walgreen’s 99 cents sale.

Leave a Reply

