Rescue Beauty Lounge: Nail Art

Now that I’ve completed the swatch series, I wanted to show you various nail art with just Rescue Beauty Lounge polishes.  I tried different techniques and different color schemes: some polishes worked well with some techniques, some did not.

First up is a simple gradient using Bella Donna as the base color.

From thumb to pinky: Abiquiu, Faraway Nearby, Jack in the Pulpit, Santa Fe RoadPurple Haze.

I had a heck of a time getting this gradient done right.  And it wasn’t the polish, it was definitely me.  I’d tried gradients before, but not successfully.  This time, however, I was determined to get a halfway decent result.

First, I tried the method where you put the polishes directly on a makeup sponge wedge.  With this method, supposedly you don’t need a base color.  That didn’t work.  The sponge soaked up the polish so fast that by the time I applied it to the nail, just a pale remnant ended up being dabbed on.

My next attempt, I decided I would put a base color down.  I used Bella Donna, like above.  I had read somewhere that if you wet the sponge and wring it out until it’s just damp, the polish won’t soak in so fast.  Tried it.  Doesn’t work.

Finally, using a paper plate, I lay down the lines of polish next to each other.  Then, I pressed the sponge on it and quickly dabbed it onto my nail (still with a base color).  This time, success!  I needed some practice and had to red0 one of the nails, but this technique definitely worked for me.

One of the time savers was that I had put a thick layer of Seche Vite on over the base color.  When I messed up the nail, all I had to do was gently lift off the offending polish with a Q-tip dipped in polish remover.  The base color remained to try again.

My favorite gradient is on my ring finger, with Santa Fe Road.

Next I decided to try stamping.

Using all the same colors as the gradients, I used BM 20 for the stripes.  The polishes aren’t great for stamping.  As I rolled the polish onto the nail, some stripes would lift off instead of adhering to the nail.  I had to manipulate the strips of polish using a cuticle stick to get them to lay down correctly.  (For my thumb, my stamp wasn’t big enough, so I filled in the rest of the stripes with a striping brush.)  I’m also not thrilled about my color choices, but I decided to show it to you anyway.  (It was a lot of work!)

After that, I puttered around with some colors and some of my nail brushes and came up with the following.

This diagonal is using Bruised as the base color, Santa Fe Road on the tips, and Locavore for the glitter.  I’m not crazy about these colors together either, but this time execution went smoothly.

Finally, I did a watermarble.  I originally wanted to use the colors from the GOMM collection, but only Bella Donna spread on the water well enough.

Ooh, I just love me a good watermarble!  This is Killa Red, Purple Haze and Bella Donna.  I had an issue with water drops (the little bumps on the middle and pinky fingers), but for the most part, it came out well.  I think my thumb turned out the best.

And that’s it!  I hope you liked some of this nail art.  Have a great day!

This entry was posted in Blue, Creme, Free Hand, Glitter, Gradient, Green, Maroon, Nail Art, Orange, Polishes, Purple, Red, Rescue Beauty Lounge, Shimmer, Stamping, Water marble, White and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Rescue Beauty Lounge: Nail Art

  1. Christine says:

    Oh what a great idea to do a gradient with a white base, have not seen it anywhere so far. I like the ones with Faraway and Santa Fe best. Your watermarble looks awesome. And while I agree with your statement re combination with Bruised and Santa Fe I could imagine this combo just stunning with different colors – maybe China Glaze Life Preserver and RBL Santa Fe??? Though I have not put them next to each other, could be totally off….

    • indigo45fly says:

      Orange and red is as tricky as orange and maroon, I think. But if both have the right tone, it could be spectacular. I think that was the problem with Bruised and Santa Fe together. Bruised has a cool tone, but Santa Fe is warm. It makes the combo just look….off. CG Life Preserver looks warm, so it could work great. Thank you for your comments on the gradient and watermarble! Cheers!

Leave a Reply

