Sunday Stamping: Circles and Dots

Whew, what a weekend!  If you’re in the central to eastern part of the States, you know what I’m talking about.  The storm whipped through here on Friday night, leaving lots of damage in it’s wake.  I was fortunate enough to only have power out for 22 hours.  There are many still waiting for power to be restored.  Prayers for them and for the families of those lost.

*moment of silence*

I usually use Saturday to do swatching and stamping, and with no power yesterday, I got nothing done (hot air + nail polish = yuckiness).  Today, instead of going grocery shopping, I spent most of the morning swatching for this week’s posts and then tackled this week’s stamping challenge of circles and dots.  Yes, that’s where my priorities lie.  Who needs a well-stocked kitchen when there’s nail art to be done?

I knew exactly what image I wanted to use, so now I had to figure out the color.  I had seen gradient/rainbow stamping – where the color is slightly blended by the scraper – and thought I’d give that a try.

The base is OPI My Boyfriend Scales Walls.  I used red, yellow and blue for the stamp.  The red is Cult Nails Evil Queen, the yellow is Zoya Pippa and the blue is butter London Blagger.  I just placed a drop of each at the edge of the image (making sure yellow was in the middle) and then scraped the polish over the image.  The colors bled into each other and blended a bit.  Voila! Rainbow!  (Although not a complete rainbow, since there’s no purple.)

The blended color technique was surprisingly easy, although I did have to clean the image plate after each time I stamped.  I realized (and not for the first time) that I really need bigger images.  I tried to compensate for the smaller size on my thumb, but the result looks a little jumbled.  I also had a hard time judging the location of the red polish on the stamp itself, since the stamper is pink.  So it was difficult to get the pattern straight on the nail using red as my guide.  I used the blue side as a guide for the most part, but when I tried to do a touchup with the red, it was near impossible to see it on the stamper.   Ideally, I should get another stamper with a different color for when I need to stamp red, orange or pink.

I really liked how this turned out, despite it’s imperfections.

This entry was posted in Blue, butter London, Creme, Cult Nails, OPI, Polishes, Red, Stamping, White, Yellow, Zoya and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sunday Stamping: Circles and Dots

  1. This colours are just gorgeous. I love rainbow manis and the design is really effective.

Leave a Reply

