White Comparison Swatches

Greetings my wonderful readers!  Wow, real life can really get in the way of nail polish.  Hopefully my absence just made your heart grow fonder!  🙂

Here’s my dog Kipling.  Isn’t he a cutie?

Ok, now for some nail polish.

Since I’ve become more and more involved in nail art, it’s become more and more important to have a good base color.  Base color is needed for water marbles, and stamping and sponging and stripes.  Many times, I’ve found myself reaching for white more than any other color to serve as my base.  I’ve tried several different whites, and thought I’d compare each of them.

Left to right: Essie Marshmallow, Zoya Purity, OPI My Boyfriend Scales Walls, Rescue Beauty Lounge Underwear

First up is Essie Marshmallow.

Essie Marshmallow

Please forgive the shiny fingers!  My cuticles were so dry from all the swatching, I applied some oil.  A little too much, apparently, for the camera.

Essie Marshmallow is a soft white.  It is very sheer and thin.  It is semi-self-leveling.  I find self-leveling to not be as important with thin formulas as with thick, so this wasn’t that much of a problem.  With three coats, it was still too sheer, so I applied a fourth.  Even with 4 coats, you can still see some VNL.  I prefer full opacity, but  I couldn’t bring myself to do 5 coats.  I draw the line at 4 and that’s pushing it.

Even with all the layers, Essie Marshmallow is still soft white.  For most nail art, the base color needs to dry completely.  The more coats, the longer the drying time.  I definitely think this is a pretty white color, but the sheer-ness means it’s only to be used when there’s enough time for drying.  I give this .

Next is Zoya Purity.

Zoya Purity

Oooh, baby, this is bright!  A chalky, stark white, Zoya Purity’s formula is thick and streaky.  Too thick for self-leveling; and because it was streaky, I needed to add more coats to try to even it out.  By the third coat, the polish was so thick on my nail that it looked like someone had put plaster on them.  I do love this particular white – I mean it is WHITE, but the formula is very difficult.  

Next is OPI My Boyfriend Scales Walls from their recent Spiderman collection.

OPI My Boyfriend Scales Walls

This is a dream to apply.  It is smooth and self-leveling.  The above is three coats.  I almost had full opacity at two coats, but added the third for good measure.  Since the formula is not thick, it wasn’t a problem to have three coats.  No plaster feeling with this one!

OPI My Boyfriend Scales Walls is a gray-toned white.  By itself in this picture it looks white enough, but wait until you see it in my comparison shot below.  This one gets  due to the nicer formula.

Last, I’ve got Rescue Beauty Lounge Underwear.

Rescue Beauty Lounge Underwear

Rescue Beauty Lounge Underwear is a bright off-white.  Its formula is streaky and slightly sticky.  It doesn’t spread well.  The above is three coats, which was needed to try to even it out.  The color is even at three coats, but the polish got lumpy.  I wanted to love this polish because I had heard good reviews.  But the formula was too difficult.  

Now for the comparison, so you can see really see the differences in the whites.

Out of all of these, OPI My Boyfriend Scales Walls had the best formula.  Unfortunately it’s gray tone prevents it from being my go-to white.  For Rescue Beauty Lounge Underwear and Zoya Purity, I’m going to add some polish thinner and see if that helps any.

Do you have a favorite white that you use often?  If so, I’d love to hear about it!

This entry was posted in Comparison Swatches, Creme, Essie, OPI, Polishes, Rescue Beauty Lounge, White, Zoya and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to White Comparison Swatches

  1. Zina Miller says:

    I like the Marshmallow! But I love Kipling even more! 🙂

  2. amazing post! i love white polishes and have thought about buying marshmallow forever and after this i think i might have to stick with my other whites. and i nominated you for the sunshine award!

  3. Pingback: Rescue Beauty Lounge Swatch Series: Sheers, White and Glitter « Nail Notes

  4. Very energetic blog, I loved that bit. Will there
    be a part 2?

  5. indigo45fly says:

    As evidenced by my late reply, I’m not really blogging that much these days. However, thanks for reading and if I ever get back into it, I will definitely do more whites.

Leave a Reply

