My Ratings System

Hi, all!  I’ve been working on a rating system for a while and am now prepared to unveil it.  This helps me, and I hope it helps you, to determine at a glance how good a nail polish is.  In conjunction with this rating system, I’ve added 2 new pages “Swatch List by Brand” and “Swatch List by Color“.  These are helpful tables that show each swatch reviewed here on this site, with a link to the relevant post and its rating.  As I add more swatches, I will update these tables.

For the ratings system, 5 bottles is the best, with 1 being the worst.  As with most ratings, this is subjective.  What I think is an excellent color may differ from yours.  My definition of an excellent formula may differ from yours as well.  However, these are things I look for in a great polish:

= excellent color – gorgeous and mesmerizing on the nail; excellent formula – not too thick, not too thin, no more than two coats

 = excellent color; fair formula – either a little too thick, too thin or requiring more than two coats for full coverage

 = good color – pretty, but average; fair formula

 = good color; formula is hard to work with – way too thick and uneven or too thin and streaky, even with multiple coats, but color is good

 = doubt I’d wear it again – disappointing color or horrible formula or bad brush or chips immediately

Note: I can’t judge long-term wear, as I usually only wear a color for two days.  If you’d like me to test a certain polish, let me know and I will do so.

This entry was posted in Polishes, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

