butter London Lillibet’s Jubilee

Today I have a real treat to show you.  In commemoration of Queen Elizabeth’s Diamond Jubilee (60 years on the British throne), butter London has released a limited edition polish, Lillibet’s Jubilee.  Apparently Lillibet was the Queen’s childhood nickname.  I’m a US citizen, but I was born in New Zealand and am always fascinated by the ‘royals’.  My mother says it’s in my blood, since I was born a British subject.  Two of my favorite movies are ‘The Queen’ and ‘Young Victoria’.  Fascinating, strong women.  Great fictional depictions of them.

I read somewhere that Queen Elizabeth only wears Essie Ballet Slippers.  I don’t know if that’s true, but I do know that she would never wear this one.  Not because it’s bad in any way, but because it is so shiny and attention-getting!  Perhaps Kate would wear it.

butter London Lillibet's Jubilee - inside with flash

butter London Lillibet's Jubilee inside with flash

butter London Lillibet's Jubilee in sunlight

butter London’s website describes it as a ‘silvery, lavender metallic foil heavily infused with holographic glitter’.  I honestly don’t see the holographic glitter, which to me means that in sunlight, you can see a rainbow as you turn your hand.  As you can see from the picture above, it is silver in sunlight.  That doesn’t change as I turn my hand.  Still gorgeous, but not a holo.

I would describe this as a dusty lilac foil with pink tones and lots of silver shimmer.  It was hard to capture this with my camera.  As I’m typing, it has a real pink tone that’s not evident in the pictures here, but that’s inside with no bright light hitting it.  Unfortunately, I wasn’t able to take a picture without either being in the sun or with the flash.  Non-flash pictures just came out too dark.

Formula-wise, it took two coats for full opacity.  It’s slightly thick, but it laid on smooth and was easy to control.  Some brushstrokes are visible, but not too much.

I really love this polish.  I love how shiny it is.  I love how it’s hard to capture and describe.  Like anything truly beautiful, it has to be seen in person to be appreciated.

Are you planning on getting this polish?  Are you an Anglophile like me?  Or, if you live in the UK, is the Diamond Jubilee really as big of a deal as it seems like to those of us across the pond?

This entry was posted in butter London, Foil, Polishes, Silver and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to butter London Lillibet’s Jubilee

  1. MBirch says:

    Beautiful swatches to tide me over till mine arrives!! I had to have this one and can’t wait till it arrives.

  2. meandjd says:

    That’s such a lovely shade!

  3. mchichester says:

    I can’t WAIT for my bottle of this to get here! I am into the royals too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

