Franken Friday: Fail!

Fridays are devoted to my adventures in frankening.  Disclaimer: Franken at your own risk.  Mixing polishes, especially those with different formulas from different manufacturers, may have undesirable and/or volatile results.

I meant to be further along in my research into full-0n frankening for today’s post.  I was trying to figure out what I would need: bottles, polish base, color, glitter.  This just led to more questions.  For colors, did I want dyes or pigments?  For the polish base, what’s best for glitters?  How about cremes?  I need to do some more research before committing to any purchases.

So for today, I decided to mix a couple of colors together.  I started with Essie Marshmallow and added a drop of Essie Sure Shot.  My aim was to make a violet-pink.  When I got the color I wanted, I proceeded to put it on my nails.

It was insanely sheer.  I put on more coats.  The polish started to glom together in lumpy piles.  What happened to the smooth polish?  It was like the polish, when mixed, became like glue.  Yep, my disclaimer is true.  Mixing polish can have undesirable results.

After taking a break, I decided to use my new dotting tool, since I hadn’t really played with it yet.  So much for frankening on Franken Friday!  Instead, I have a cute pink with white polka dots.

I apologize for the fuzziness of the picture.  I took ten pictures and this is the best one.  The mani was too cute for the camera to focus on!

This is OPI Suzi & the Lifeguard in three coats, with Essie Marshmallow for the dots.  As always, Seche Vite for the topcoat.

I’m thrilled how easy the dotting tool made this mani.  I can see multiple dotted nails in my future……

Have a great weekend!

UPDATE: I was really dissatisfied with the picture, so I took some more this morning.  I think this one shows the design/colors better:

This entry was posted in Essie, Frost, OPI, Pink, Polishes, White and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

