Franken Friday: Cranberry Christmas

Fridays are devoted to my adventures in frankening.  Disclaimer: Franken at your own risk.  Mixing polishes, especially those with different formulas from different manufacturers, may have undesirable and/or volatile results.

I got a little more ambitious with my frankening today.  I mixed four polishes together to come up with this beauty.  I call it ‘Cranberry Christmas’.  Coming up with nail polish names is half the fun of frankening!

Franken: Cranberry Christmas

It’s got a cranberry colored base with small gold glitter and larger green flakies.  I don’t think the green was picked up by the camera, but they are what looks like the larger glitter in the pictures.  I used equal parts Nails Inc Chelsea Embankment and Finger Paints Flecked, half of Essie Wicked and two drops of Marshmallow.  Wicked is more a burgundy, and the white toned it down and brought out the red.

Left to right: Nails Inc Chelsea_Embankment, Finger Paints Flecked, Essie Marshmallow, Essie Wicked

I’ve become more intrigued by the possibilities of making my own polish and now I want to try making it from scratch.  I know there’s a lot to learn, but it definitely will be fun.  Tell me, do you have a favorite franken recipe?  If so, email your pictures and recipe and I’ll post it next week.

This entry was posted in Essie, Finger Paints, Finishes, Flakie, Glitter, Gold, Green, Nails Inc, Polishes, Red and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Franken Friday: Cranberry Christmas

  1. Cool pics! Nail polish from scratch? That sounds intriguing.

Leave a Reply

