Franken Friday: Creamsicle

Franken?  Wha????

That was my first thought when I first saw the term a couple of months ago.  Coming from Dr. Frankenstein, it means to create a new nail polish out of other polishes.  Like layering one color on top of another, adding glitter to a color, or mixing colors together.  It can also mean making your own nail polish from base ingredients, like ‘Girly Bits‘ or ‘Dollish Polish‘.

What an exciting concept!  I love the idea of making my own polish.  In fact, I already have my first collection in mind.  I would love to see it come to fruition.  But first, I need to learn all about this franken stuff.  No need to reinvent the wheel, as they say.  So, I’ve designated Fridays as Franken Fridays.  This is where I share with you my adventures in frankening.

For my first franken experiment, I decided to mix some colors together to see what I could come up with.  In my mind’s eye, I wanted to get a soft orange color, like the color of a creamsicle.  I’m happy to say that I believe I succeeded.

Left to right: Sephora by OPI IM Beauty, Essie Pink-A-Boo, OPI Peru-B-Ruby

I combined a yellow creme with a pink shimmer and a touch of a ruby iridescent.  In a small glass bowl, I put equal amounts of Sephora by OPI IM Beauty and Essie Pink-A-Boo.  After mixing them together, I put a drop of OPI Peru-B-Ruby.  This made it too dark, so I added some more yellow.  After getting the desired color, at least in the bowl, I put it on my nails, cannibalizing a brush from a clear polish.  It took three coats for opacity.  You can see the shimmer from Pink-A-Boo.

Creamsicle (Franken)

I learned several things about this.  First, I need polish thinner to clean brushes.  I tried using polish remover, but it didn’t work so great.  Next time I tried to use the brush, it seemed like it had become floppy, like the bristles had broken down.  Second, combining a creme and shimmer makes a thick ropy formula, at least in this instance.  Third, be careful about adding dark colors.  When I added the ruby, it came dangerously close to brown.  If I was to do this over, I wouldn’t add the ruby at all.

This was a fun experiment and I definitely want to try more.  Have you mixed colors together?  Did it turn out the way you wanted?

This entry was posted in Essie, OPI, Pink, Sephora by OPI, Shimmer, Yellow and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

