Wacky Wednesday: Sponge Nail Art

Wacky Wednesdays is when I try new-to-me techniques.  I promise I will post how it turns out, no matter what it looks like!

I had seen some lovely sponge designs  (see here and here) and so I thought I would give this technique a try.  There’s lots of design choices to make, from ombre to simple stripes to dots.  I decided to go for an impressionist look, opting for colors that I thought would very much complement each other.

First, I started with a completely dry base color: Essie Turquoise & Caicos:

Essie Turquoise & Caicos without topcoat

The formula for this lovely creme was a little streaky, so I ended up using three coats.  I did not apply a topcoat, as I was going to be putting on more colors, so I waited about 40 minutes for it all to dry.  That was enough time to watch an episode of ‘The Good Wife’, one of my favorite TV shows.  Alicia Florrick rocks!

Then I got some makeup sponge wedges.  You know, the type that are used to apply foundation and blend makeup.  For the colors I used Butter London Blagger, a dark royal blue, and Essie Marshmallow, a soft white.  Using the nail brush, I dabbed a generous amount of color on the corners of the wedge and then dabbed randomly on my nails.  The white didn’t transfer very well, so I dabbed it directly on the nail with the brush.  After a few minutes, I applied Seche Vite topcoat.

And, voila!

At first, I didn’t like it.  I thought it looked like something a kindergartner would do with fingerpaints.  But after wearing this for awhile, it’s grown on me.  It’s certainly a unique design, one I wouldn’t be able to duplicate.  Just like an impressionist painting, it looks better from further away.  I only did these three fingers, as I’m not feeling too well today and have run out of steam.

Sponge Design from further away

For my first attempt at using a sponge, I like it.  Next time, I will have to attempt an ombre.

Tell me, what do you think?  Do you like how this turned out?  Any suggestions?

This entry was posted in Blue, butter London, Creme, Essie, Green, Polishes, Turquoise, White and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

