Sinful Colors Firefly, Luminary and Sweet Dreams Swatches & Review

Part of my ‘education’ of this new world of nail polish (new to me, at least) is to try different brands.  Until just a couple months ago, I had no idea there were so many available.  Today I tried Sinful Colors and three of their new colors in the Sheer Shimmer Collection: Firefly, Luminary and Sweet Dreams.

First up is Firefly.

Sinful Colors Firefly

This is a bright lemon yellow.  There’s a touch of shimmer.  To reach this opacity, I used three coats.  In a previous post, I complained about Sephora by OPI IM Beauty, a great yellow that simply took too many coats to get full coverage.  I believe this is a great replacement, although I’m still on the lookout for a yellow with a creme finish.

Next is Luminary.

Sinful Colors Luminary

This took two coats.  It is a bright coral shimmer.  It looks more orange in the picture, but it is closer to a peach-coral, than an orange-coral.  The shimmer has yellow tones.  I didn’t like it too much on my skin tone, but it truly is a nice color.

Then there’s Sweet Dreams.

Sinful Colors Sweet Dreams

This is a bright cornflower blue.  As with the two previous colors, it also has a shimmer finish.  It took two coats.  Very nice.

All three had the same formula, which unfortunately was thick and gloopy.  I prefer thinner, faster flowing formulas, although sometimes that means they’re too streaky.  Despite that, the end result was fun bright summer colors, so the formula is not a show-stopper.

Overall, there’s nothing special about these colors, but they’re still nice, especially for someone like me who’s just building her collection.

In all cases, I used Orly Bonder basecoat and Seche Vite quick dry topcoat.

I would also like to mention that I got these colors through a fellow blogger at Polish.Glitter.Rock&Roll, who was having a blog sale to support a very worthwhile charity: the Dr. Marnie Rose Foundation, which works to fund brain cancer research.  Please check out their website and do what you can to help.

So, what do you think of these colors?  Do you know of any dupes?

This entry was posted in Blue, Coral, Polishes, Shimmer, Sinful Colors, Yellow and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sinful Colors Firefly, Luminary and Sweet Dreams Swatches & Review

  1. Danielle says:

    looks good girl! thanks for the link and if you ever want to swap or something, you have my email. (:

Leave a Reply

