Neutral/Pink Comparison

Over the years, I’d somehow accumulated a couple of pale pinks and neutrals.  These shades were what I would normally wear to work.  Looking at them on my shelf, I realized I didn’t know how different they really look from one another on the nail.  So, I decided to do a comparison.

Here they are.  From left to right are OPI Dulce de Leche, OPI Hawaiian Orchid and OPI Suzi & the Lifeguard.

In the bottle, you can see that Dulce de Leche is more beige than pink.  Hawaiian Orchid and Suzi & the Lifeguard look very similar.

Here’s how they look on.

Inside with flash

Outside in the sun

Dulce de Leche only required two coats, while the others needed three.  Even with three coats, there’s still VNL (visible nail line).  Suzi & the Lifeguard is a lighter pink once on, but Hawaiian Orchid looks lighter coming out of the bottle.  Hawaiian Orchid is more sheer.  Suzi went on kind of streaky.  It only leveled out on the third coat.  Dulce de Leche is way more brown than the color in the bottle seems, but it does have a pinky coral undertone to it.  Both Hawaiian and Suzi have iridescence – that flash of pink when the light hits it – but it shows up on Suzi a bit more.  This results in more of a bubblegum pink than Hawaiian.

Overall, if choosing between Hawaiian Orchid and Suzi & the Lifeguard, I would go with Suzi due to its more obvious iridescence and lighter, purer pink.  I don’t often wear coral colors, so I’m not sure how often I would wear Dulce de Leche, but it may work as a good base for some designs.

Which color do you like?  Do you wear neutrals/light shades that often?

*********

Wishlist Update: I got Sally Hansen’s Instant Cuticle Remover and used it for the first time.  This stuff really works.  It may not show very well in the photos, but my cuticles look much better.  Thank you to All Lacquered Up for the recommendation!  This will make doing my nails so much easier.

This entry was posted in Beige, Coral, Iridescent, OPI, Pink, Polishes, Sally Hansen and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Neutral/Pink Comparison

  1. That’s a tough call, but I kinda like the hawaiian orchid — especially for spring. Very flower petal-ly.

  2. kat269 says:

    They are all pretty, but I like Dulce de Leche the most. More neutral and professional also!

Leave a Reply

