Wacky Wednesdays – First Foray into Nail Art (disaster!!!)

Wacky Wednesdays is when I try new techniques.  I promise I will post how it turns out, no matter what it looks like!

I decided to try my hand at some nail art.  I thought I’d start out with an easy pattern: some lines and some dots.

Isn’t this awful?  Should be simple, right?  Just some straight lines and uniform dots.  Ummmm, no, not so much. *laughing*

I think the concept was good.  I had Butter London Yummy Mummy on as the base.  For the sparkly brown, I used OPI Brisbane Bronze.  The black is OPI Black Onyx.  Perhaps if I try this again, I will get rid of the black diagonal line and just have the dots in between the bronze.

I had read somewhere that scotch tape could be used to tape off the portion of the nail you didn’t want to paint.  I tried that, but I must not have pressed the tape down hard enough, or maybe different brands or types of tape work better?  Anyway, the result was the polish bleeding under the tape.  I was going for a diagonal portion of bronze at the base of the nail.  Instead, I got semi-straight lines with bulges of color here and there.

For the dots, I had read that the head of a pin could be used.  It actually works pretty well, but I found that it’s very sensitive to both the amount of polish and pressure used to apply the dot.  Hence the various size dots, instead of nice uniform ones.  I will need lots of practice to perfect this technique.

For the black lines, I got impatient.  I probably should have waited until the other parts dried, and then used tape to create straight diagonal lines, but I thought I could just freehand it.  Well, you see the result.  Yuck.  Next time I’ll try to be more patient.

The diagonal bronze tips actually were fairly easy to do and didn’t turn out half bad.  Again, I should have used tape, but since the first taping didn’t go so well, and the rest of the design had turned out so bad, I just free-handed it.

What did I learn from this?  I need better tools and more patience and lots and lots of practice!

What was your first nail art experience like?  Any advice for me?

This entry was posted in Beige, Black, Bronze, butter London, OPI and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Wacky Wednesdays – First Foray into Nail Art (disaster!!!)

  1. normandlou says:

    All you need is some sctoch tape and a dotting tool and this will be really pretty! I like that you left the mid part of the nail plain. I just did a manicure like that as well. Really pretty.
    Instead of a dotting tool, you could awyas just use a dress makers pin or a bobby pin.

  2. Hey, it’s not THAT bad. And I bet it looks really cool from a distance! Love the color combo, too. I’ve never tried nail art, other than just putting a different colored stripe down the middle of an existing color, so I don’t have any useful advice.

    • indigo45fly says:

      I guess this is the perfectionist in me coming out. In my mind I had a completely different picture than what ended up on my nail. So, I suppose not that bad after all.

Leave a Reply

