Pre-Blog Retrospective

I thought I would post pictures from some of the nails I had in the past few weeks prior to starting this blog.  At the time, I took the pictures to send to my good friend Jennifer.  I realized as I worked with each subsequent polish that I had specific ideas and notes about each one that I wanted to preserve.  As my collection grows, it’ll be harder and harder to keep track of which polish I liked and which wasn’t so great.  This blog will help me do that!

I’ve got 6 looks to show you.

My first new color was Butter London Yummy Mummy.  It’s a light beige.  Unfortunately, I don’t have a pic of that.  But after about a week, I got OPI White Shatter and put it on over top:

OPI White Shatter over Butter London Yummy Mummy

This was my first experience with a ‘crackle’ or ‘shatter’ type nail polish.  The consistency was like White Out – but it was fairly easy to apply.  It was cool to see it dry into the cracks you see in the picture.  Butter London Yummy Mummy is too light to really shine through, but the effect was the shatter was over my natural nail.  I really liked it.

My next polish was around Valentine’s Day.  I had gotten Nicole by OPI Love Your Life, which looked really great in the bottle.  It’s a light pink jelly with little pink glitter hearts.  I thought it would look really great over black:

Nicole by OPI Love Your Life over OPI Black Onyx

My photo-taking skills are still developing, so this is not a great image.  However, you can see the main problem: I was only able to get the heart glitter on two nails (index and pinky).  The rest just got the sparkly pink jelly.  I was picturing a nail covered with nicely spaced hearts in my head when I got the polish.  After this debacle, I have since read that this can be a problem with ‘chunky’ glitters.  It was not fun to apply, and did not look that good!

Next up was Sephora by OPI Caught With My Khakis Down.  My skin tone has always looked good with khakis and olive green colors, so I thought I would really like this:

Sephora by OPI Caught With My Khakis Down with Nails Inc Chelsea Embankment accent nail

At first, I really liked this color.  As you can see, I added some gold glitter as an accent nail.  The good news on this glitter is that it is really dense.  That is only one coat!  It was a welcome change from the heart glitter debacle.  The khaki took two coats, and went on very smoothly.  Sephora by OPI’s brush is slightly longer than I’m used to, but it was easy enough to adapt to it.  I think my application of this has been the best so far.  There was no cleanup required on this one!

After a few days, however, the color seemed to have a muddy tone to it.  I think I would like to try a khaki with a bluer tone.  Overall, though, I thought this manicure was very successful.

There seems to be a lot of blues on the market.  Having never tried blue, I thought I would go for that next.

Orly It's Up to Blue with Essie Carnival

This was my first experience with a frost.  (At least I think it’s a frost – please correct me below if I’m mistaken!)  Every brush stroke was visible and so I was extra careful on the second coat.  I love this color.  It’s a very happy color.  For extra sparkle, I added a single coat of Essie Carnival, a subtle silver glitter.

To continue with bright colors, I thought I’d try a yellow:

Sephora by OPI IM Beauty

This took 4 coats!  And it was still streaky and not quite opaque.  I was afraid that if I added a 5th coat, it would never dry.  I have yet to get a quick-drying top coat, but even if I had one, isn’t applying over 4 coats too much?  All that said, I love this color.  Of all the polishes I’d been wearing over the past few weeks, this one got the most comments.  My dentist even complimented me!  I’m now on the search for a similar yellow that doesn’t take as many coats to achieve this brilliant sun-yellow effect.

After about a week, the polish started to chip.  I was heading out of town to visit my parents and didn’t have time to redo my nails.  So, I added OPI White Shatter to it.  What a great way to quickly update your nails!

Sephora by OPI IM Beauty with OPI White Shatter

I apologize for the blurry photo, but I think you get the idea of how this looked.  The bold color peeking out in between the cracks gave it an edgier look than the first time I’d used the shatter.  Once I find that opaque yellow, I will definitely do this look again.

So that’s it.  We’re now up to date with all the looks I have done up until now.  Just FYI, I used a base coat and top coat for each look (both from OPI), and usually two coats of the color, unless otherwise stated.  Wear was usually 5 days or so.

I’m interested in what you think of these and what experiences you’ve had with similar polishes.  Have chunky glitters given you the same problems as the heart glitter did for me? Does yellow usually take that many coats?  Is frost always so hard to make look good with the brush strokes?  If so, are there any tricks of the trade to know about?

This entry was posted in Beige, Black, Blue, butter London, Essie, Glitter, Gold, Nails Inc, Nicole by OPI, OPI, Orly, Pink, Polishes, Sephora by OPI, Shatter, White, Yellow and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

